In which love is a fantasy and true love is real

500 days poster 1

I knew what I was in for when I went to see (500) Days of Summer tonight.  I knew from the trailer that I feel like my life is an embodiment of a combination of both Tom and Summer.  I didn’t think it was going to hit my #1 spot as far as favourite movie of the year (so far—hey, Where The Wild Things Are isn’t out yet!).  It had me from the moment it began, with a written disclaimer that turned into a mini-rant.  L.O.V.E.  I feel like I should get some things off my chest.  I’ve been in a relationship very similar to Tom and Summer’s.  The details may have been slightly different,  but like all difficult things, it changed me, and I still am not really past it.  I think about it a lot.  And it was years ago.  I don’t wish I was back there, but  it made me a better person I think.

I love the SmithsAre you serious?Summer's
It’s weird.  In the packed cinema a lot of the time when everyone else was laughing, I wanted to stand up and say, “Hey!  That’s not funny!  I’ve been there and done that!”  ‘Coolest Romantic Tragedy of the year with some Humour thrown in’ should have been the tagline.
zooey
Also its official. Zooey Deschanel has fully jumped into my top few actresses that I heart. Those eyes… That voice… Ellipsis…
It was nice seeing Joseph Gordon Levitt inhabit a grown-up, real-type person character as well. I already thought he was great (Brick, Mysterious Skin, ummmm… yeah.) but this was different.
love/hate
I’m watching it again Friday. You should watch it too.

Leave a Reply

