Altruism

Yesterday when I came home from university I had received an update from my World Vision sponsor child in the mail.  Thierry Shmbusho is 8 years old and is from Rwanda.  My update tells me that he is well behaved, likes football (soccer), and wants to be a pilot when he grows up.  And the personal message from Thierry, “I love you so much”.

Awww.  Now I tend to be a pretty cynical person and mostly mistrustful of what people say.  Particularly sentiment.  Probably stems from some childhood experience or other.  Hah!  But that’s just too much.  I mean who doesn’t want to be told by someone on the other side of the world who knows nothing about you that they love you “so much”?  Generally I feel like a pretty bad sponsor.  They take the money every fortnight and send me letters and that’s about it.  I haven’t really participated more than is minimally necessary.  I haven’t sent letters or pictures back, or gifts.  Or even the birthday card that they send for you to write in and send back.  Yeah, I’m a bad person.  But maybe that’ll change.  I mean I am in this for the long haul, and the point is to make a difference in the life of someone who has few other options.  I have life pretty good, even if I justify to myself that I’m just a student and don’t have much extra money etc, etc.  Maybe what I’m getting at is that we can all do better.  Not just leave it at intention and hope something will happen.

Leave a Reply

