Blog blog blog

Ok, so I haven’t written a blog since last week.  I think I’ve been feeling uninspired to write, which is silly because stuff has happened.

On Sunday, for example, my long overdue haircut was thrust upon me by caring friends who took me to the hairdresser and paid for me to get it done.  I’ve had a lot of comments so it must’ve been a good thing.

Today I hung out with the redhead (Hi Amber!), and it was really good to catch up on the life stuff and just talk like normal people about things.  When I say ‘normal people’ of course we talk about stuff that’s anything but normal, but I won’t go into that.  You don’t need to know.  Lets just leave it at I’m happy that we can be friends.

Also today the book I’ve had made as part of my end of year presentation arrived.  I’d been getting nervous about it because I ordered it through an online company and it cost a lot more than I had anticipated and I wouldn’t know what the result would be like until it arrived, and now it has and its great.  Beautiful.  I love it.  Ruth loved it.  I’m happy.  Well I’ll be really happy if I get first class honours, but one day at a time right?  I also put in the print request for four out of around ten large prints I’m presenting, so that’s another thing I don’t have to think about.

I have been planning on buying a 1Tb external hard drive before the end of the year so I can take all my stuff off the uni server, and also because my laptop’s been running out of space for months (like I’ve been slowly deleting stuff as I accumulate other stuff which is a painful process… I’m a hoarder at heart).  This afternoon I bought one, and I’m right this minute transferring huge amounts of stuff off my laptop and onto it.  It feels good.

This evening I went to a preview screening of Michael Moore’s new movie Capitalism: A Love Story.  I actually don’t like Michael Moore, and I haven’t watched any of his movies up to this point (he just comes across as so obnoxious from what I had seen about him), but I have a bit of a thing about capitalism, so I was interested to see how it would pan out.  Now the guy does go about things in a less than helpful way, I think, but this movie is one that probably everyone needs to watch.  It leaves you with something to think about at the very least.  And sometimes we don’t think enough about some things that are important.

Here are a few more of the blogs I’ve been reading recently:

Keri Smith’s wish jar is a big mix up of all different things that are going on in her life and what she’s been thinking about and doing.

The Julie/Julia Project is the blog that turned into a book that is now a movie starring Meryl Streep as Julia Child and Amy Adams as Julie Powell; the woman who wrote a blog about cooking her way through Child’s famous cookbook.  I think I like the blog version better than the movie.

IMBOYCRAZY.com is not for the faint of heart.  Alexi Wasser is a young hipster (I guess?) living in LA and obsessing over boys.  Her morals are interesting and her language is colourful, but she is downright hilarious (some might say annoying).  I’m finding it amusing.

This Recording I have a love hate relationship with.  When I first found it I thought it was interesting but some of the articles got me really frustrated or even angry.  Their piece about the Half Blood Prince had me virtually frothing at the mouth.  The constant talking about tv shows I haven’t seen is annoying, but also it is a heads-up that maybe I want to start watching them.  It got me hooked on True Blood (not necessarily such a good thing).  I don’t think it technically counts as a blog, but there’s usually something interesting to read there anyway.

And last but not least, I can’t talk up We Love You So enough.  I always look forward to seeing what new things have been posted here.  I’ve been turned on to so much great stuff by this one site.  Oh and Spike Jonze might just be a genius.

I’ll leave you with this image courtesy of Chris Jordan‘s via Tiny Vices

If you know me you’ll know why I like it.  Also its a reminder of why our consumer driven society is so unhealthy, not only for us, but for the world.

I guess that’ll do for now.  Catch you later.

Leave a Reply

