The Saga Continues… + Edit

Having just come home from a midnight screening of The Twilight Saga: New Moon (with Ruth and Ariél free at Gold Class, thank you very much!) I thought I’d tell you what I thought.  When I watched Twilight, I felt kinda awkward.  I mean its all just really intense looks between Bella and Edward, and they basically have an orgasm by just touching each other.  Awkward.  Otherwise I didn’t think it was too terrible.  It made me kinda curious about the books, which I subsequently read.  If you haven’t read them already, I wouldn’t recommend them.  They’re terribly written with long and agonising passages where Bella looks at Edward and goes on and on for pages about how perfect and beautiful and god-like (statuesque?) he is.  I’m throwing up in my mouth a little just thinking about it…  Also they’re addictive.  Despite the terribleness.  I don’t know what it is, you just have to keep reading.  So New Moon.  The lights go down, the orange moon fills the screen, the grown women clap their hands together in glee.  Yuck.  It starts right into it, which in a way is good.  No going over stuff that was already in Twilight.  It moves pretty quickly, with a lot to get through in a couple of hours, quite a bit of the plot is merely suggested between the main points.  It really is for fans of the books, a fair amount isn’t explained fully.  The action and effects in this one are a massive step up from Twilight.  The wolves were fairly impressive, I mean you wouldn’t mistake them for being real, but I’m not complaining.  It ended on a semi cliffhanger, but even before then I was kinda thinking about how long it is until Eclipse comes out.  Obviously readers of the books already know what happens, but still.  Overall, Twilight I thought worked better as a movie, but New Moon I think works better as a book.  Well it would if someone rewrote it.  So, yeah, this movie: not better than Twilight.

And the highlights…

Things I didn’t like:

  • Kristen Stewart.   The girl is just annoying, and yeah, I know that in the books Bella is a-freakin’-nnoying, but still, Kristen Stewart is more annoying.  She does get credit for toning down the whole lip-biting thing in this one.
  • Dakota Fanning.  Casting someone so well-known in role like this was asking for trouble.  I didn’t find her very convincing in comparison to how the character is in the book.  And,  “Pain”?  Come onnnnn…
  • The pale vampire makeup.  It just looks bad.  Especially the Volturi.  Maybe they were going for that?  I still didn’t like it.
  • The shots of Bella reflected in Jacob’s wolf eye were a tad unnecessary and OTT in my humble opinion.

And the good stuff:

  • Top of the list is the soundtrack.  How they convinced seriously good artists like Thom Yorke, Grizzly Bear and Bon Iver to use their music I will never fully understand, but I will probably buy it.
  • The guys: Rob Pattinson, Taylor Lautner, Michael Sheen all do a good job of selling themselves as believable in the roles.  I do feel sorry for Taylor though, as a 17 year old being drooled over by grown women (yes there were delighted gasps when he took off his shirt), its more than a tad disturbing.
  • Victoria.  She is one hot redhead.  Its a shame that she didn’t return for Eclipse.  I mean I like Bryce Dallas Howard (her replacement) and all, but I like Rachelle Lefevre better.

Yeah, that about sums it up.  Go Team Dracula!

Edit

So after a re-watch my verdict is revised.  Kristen Stewart was even more annoying than I remembered and Rob and Taylor not really that great either.  I have been known to say that Twilight makes a better movie than book simply because of the fact that it gets us out of Bella’s head.  The opposite is the case with New Moon.  It was a better book than movie, and that is saying something considering my opinion of the book.  And as for Chris Weitz, I can’t think of a movie that he has directed or produced that I really like.  Ok, About A Boy was good, but Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist had potential to be so much better, and the American Pie moments make sense now that I know he was involved.  Generally his films leave me feeling cold, and New Moon is no different.

 

Leave a Reply

