A study in desolation

I walked slowly home, thinking about what had happened and what would happen next.  As I reached my house I noticed on the pavement outside a lone and somewhat dejected looking toastie maker.  Where had it come from?  Where was its owner, and why had it been abandoned in this careless and negligent manner?  Or had it escaped from a cruel master, braving the hostile world outside in hope of a better future.  I sighed and walked inside, too wrapped up in my own troubles to give it much more than a passing thought.

Leave a Reply

