Quote Unquote Fantastic

Yesterday I went to a preview screening of Fantastic Mr Fox.  I have to say that despite some early misgivings (the trailer wasn’t fantastic), I am happy to say that Wes Anderson has done it again.  Somehow he has created a very grown-up film that is also suitable for/accessible to children.  I guess it helps that he is a master of all things visual, and having such a high level of control as with stop motion has allowed him to create something extraordinary.  I found myself filled with delight over and over.  I loved it.  But then, I love Roald Dahl and I love Wes Anderson.  Now I know that I love them combined as well.  Also, just as I was expecting, my favourite character was Jason Schwartzman’s Ash.

Ash (right) and his cousin Kristofferson

No surprise there, he is one of my favourite actors at the moment.

I’m glad that my first film of 2010 was so great after having some recent expectations disappointed.

Leave a Reply

