The Big Challenges in Life

“I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you took me in, naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.”  Matthew 25 (paraphrased)

This is one of the most challenging parts in the Bible, and I’ve always wondered how I would act if it came down to being faced with one of these things.  Well tonight I had a chance to find out.

I had been watching movies at a friend’s place and was dropped of home around 12.30 am.  As the car pulled up outside I noticed a bunch of stuff piled put just off the street outside the house.  I thought it was odd but that maybe my flatmate had been cleaning out her stuff or something odd like that.  However when I got out of the car I was faced with a person.  A girl looking somewhat less than well done by in life.  She asked if this was my house and apologised for the stuff, then asked if I could spare a blanket for her because she had nowhere to go.  I don’t so that wasn’t very helpful.  She then rambled on slightly incoherently about different things and finally suggested that she might just sleep on our floor.  Obviously I was not particularly keen for that and was sure my flatmate wouldn’t be either, so I said I’d check with her (not keen).  I then suggested we could possibly arrange for her to go to the city mission (no go, there’s noone answering their phones after 5 pm, also the police don’t take non-emergency calls after 11 pm).  She then suggested that she had a friend who she could go to so my flatmate agreed to us driving her and her stuff to a place not too far away.  Which we proceeded to do.  When we got there the guy said flat-out no that she couldn’t stay.  We were like, Oh God what do we do now.  The girl then suggested that she could sleep at some church on Great North Rd, again, not too far away, so we went to drive her there, when she suggested another friend she could try also in that general direction.  Cue driving around Kingsland in the middle of the night with a somewhat incoherent stranger giving us vague directions.  So eventually find the flats she’s looking for and the old guy agrees that she can stay the night so we unload her stuff (for a second time), greatful that we have been able to sort something out.  We feel good.  We didn’t just abandon her.  We did the right thing.  We couldn’t just let her burden us with her presence.  I mean come on, we have lives, work, things to do, places to be…

She called us her “Christian friends” to the old guy whose place we dropped her at.  Neither me nor my flatmate had mentioned God at any stage of this process.  Maybe she just got that vibe from us.  Who knows.

I had always wondered what I would do.  And I’m still not sure what I’ll do if something similar were to happen again in the future.

What would you have done?

Leave a Reply

