The Ocean and the Sand

Tossing and turning, wave upon wave
Crashes over my head, the darkness
Is interrupted by aching: hot, cold
The ebb and flow of a restless mind
Yellow and unnatural this illumination
Overcome by a dusty, specific irritation
Sharp and gravelly as I swallow
The excess of saliva constantly building
Itself up in the depths of my being.
Sleep is gone, threatening to return
Yet never quite living up to the promise
I long for it to draw me away a while
From this oppressive band of cloud
Cotton balls in my brain dampening
The sensation of being alive
I don’t even remember how it feels to
Not feel this way.  Remind me.
How does it feel?

Leave a Reply

