The Litterers

Today on my way home I was sitting on the bus and looking out the window.  As we were going along I saw a woman lift her hand and throw an empty bottle of something or other onto the ground by where she was walking.  I have never seen such a blatant act of littering, and I was kind of shocked and angry.  I have to say it.  I have no respect for people who litter intentionally.  I actually think they are bad people.

And while we’re on the subject of litter, this morning I witnessed another thing that horrified me.  Across the road from my house there were two men and a leaf blower.  They were blowing all the fallen leaves into a pile and then putting them into a black rubbish bag.  My city pays people to clean up and dispose of the best part of my favourite season.

Unless they love leaves as much as I do and they were keeping them.  Which I find somewhat unlikely.

Leave a Reply

