The Roses

It has come to my attention that I have several rather illustrious persons in my (extended) family tree.  Firstly, my 17th great-grandfather being Henry VII, King of England, I am also related to Mary, Queen of Scots (his daughter), right on down to Queen Elizabeth II (my 13th cousin, thrice removed).

What I just learned is that Henry is from the House of Lancaster, and his wife Elizabeth Plantagenet was of House York, and their union ended the War of the Roses.  I find this interesting less because of the history, but because it is somewhat the basis of A Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin, a very hot-blooded high fantasy epic series (the first book of which, The Game of Thrones, is currently being televised by HBO) and which I have read slash continue to read (well, will do as it continues to be written and published).  For those of you who don’t know or can’t figure it out for yourselves, Lancaster = Lannister and York = Stark.  I feel that since the end of the first (couple?) of books the plotting has swiftly veered away from the War of the Roses into altogether different territory, but I guess we’ll have to see.  It does kind of make me more interested to do a bit of research into the actual War of the Roses to find out more about the history of it all as it is now my own personal history as well.

The things you learn on the internet.

2 Responses to “The Roses”

  1. ngaire Says:

    OK so what does that make me?? Oh thats right that would be from the
    Cope family while our side is from the wrong side of the fence.
    You’d better find out for me!!

  2. thewhitebird Says:

    Too damn right! Mum’s side of the family is all class, unlike you rowdy lot.

Leave a Reply

