We. Need. To. Talk. About. KEVIN.

Sometimes the way to gauge how good a film is, is to see if afterwards you feel as if it has changed you.  You come out in a bit of a daze.  You hear the people sitting behind you talking about how awful it was from beginning to end.  You hear them talking about how it made them think about their life and you can tell that they aren’t comfortable being broken out of their safe little bubble life.  You wonder if they knew what it was they were going to watch when they bought their tickets.  I mean, do people not like to know something about the film they’re paying to see.  Especially if their sensibilities are so easily tweaked?  People are a strange and puzzling race.  Maybe that’s what Kevin thought of them.  Or maybe he saw himself as above them.  Somehow superior.  I don’t want to talk about it too much, because if you want to see it you don’t want to know enough to take away the impact.  I wonder why it is that so many of the films I rate as being something special are ones that seem to hit a nerve and cause people to react.  Maybe I like having my nerves pinched a little bit.  It lets me know I’m alive.  Breaks me out of my own little world (ha!).  Anyway, let me just say that this is the kind of film that takes your breath away.  And breaks your heart.  I like to feel a little bit broken.

Also, I know I shouldn’t have to say it, but Tilda Swinton.  Amazing.  Ezra Miller.  Amazing.

Now where can I get a copy of the book?

One Response to “We. Need. To. Talk. About. KEVIN.”

  1. The Dandy Lion Says:

    I absolutely cannot wait to read this book. It’s on my Books to Read in 2012 list.
    Try looking on http://www.fishpond.com.au/Books
    excellent deals!!

Leave a Reply

