A Whole New Life, or, The Tilda Swinton Institute of Romance

I don’t do resolutions.  That’s what I told my aunt when I was talking to her on the telephone at Christmas.  But then I decided that maybe this year I could make a resolution.  And so I said, “My one resolution is to have a whole new life.”

This was prompted by a nagging feeling of stagnation that seems to have pervaded my life in the last little while.  Especially the last month I would say, since coming home from Australia.

Earlier in the year I had said somewhat jokingly to some people that I was thinking of moving to Melbourne.  In fact I’ve probably been saying it on and off since I visited for the first (and only) time back in about 2003.  But now it seems like it might actually happen.  One of my work friends moved there over Christmas, and another work friend of mine and I had decided and go visit for her birthday in March.  A kind of three Musketeers (Slothcateers?) reunion.  Caroline, the other friend, has been planning for quite a while on moving to Wellington to study in the early new year, and I’m to be the one left behind.

And so back to that feeling of stagnation.  I’ve been feeling like I need a change of scene.  I feel like even if I were to move house and change jobs here in Auckland, nothing would actually change.  What I need is a whole new life.

Last week Caroline and I were talking, and I asked about her plans and what she’d actually done, if she’d applied for her course yet.  She hadn’t.  She said it’d be fine.  It’d be a late application but it’d be fine.  So I turned the situation to our mutual advantage by suggesting that she give up this ridiculous notion of moving to Wellington and instead move to Melbourne with me.  The convincing went easier than I had thought, considering I hadn’t even expected for it to work.

We very quickly became animated talking about what our new life would be like, and in the next day or so Caroline actually even applied to study at the University of Melbourne.

So it looks very likely we’ll be making the move across the Tasman in the next couple of months.

Anyway, all this to say that I’ve been spending a lot of time recently thinking about what I’m going to do with all my stuff.  I have this problem every time I move house, but moving to another country is an entirely different kettle of fish.  Some decisions will be easy.  There are a lot of things I’ve kind of held on to just because of my inclination not to throw things away.  But there’s even more I don’t want to lose, but that won’t be practical to take with me.  Some hard decisions will have to be made, and it’s been weighing on my mind.  I think I will need to start actually going through things and getting rid of them before they become problematic.

Also, I’m quite looking forward to living a different kind of life from what I have since I moved out of home in, gulp, 1999.

It’s like starting over.

Again.

Leave a Reply

