An update on Limbo

This is a strange time in my life.  I don’t know if I’ve already said this.  Maybe I said it before I moved to Melbourne, but I’m going to say it again anyway.  My life at the moment basically consists of going to work at my new cinema and coming home to the hostel I’m living in (until things settle down and I’ve got a decent amount of work, and Caroline has a job and we start looking for a flat).  We go to our regular place for coffee and muffins (where everyone knows our names—well we’re on first name terms with the owners anyway).  This morning I went to another cafe I’ve been going to a bit and the girl at the counter remembered my name even though she’s served me maybe twice.  And it was really busy.  We’ve got a bit of a routine.  Sort of.  If you include sleeping in a lot (no changes there then).

I guess what I’m saying is that I’m still not quite settled in.  Not having a proper home, while not the worst, is definitely not ideal.  I’m training on production at work (essentially projection) which I’m feeling positive about, but I’d still really like to get past the “new guy” vibe.  I’ve started going to Hillsong’s new Melbourne church which I’m enjoying, but going to a church where you literally know no one is also not the easiest.

And another thing.  Before I came over I was told by a few different people that Australians can be difficult to deal with.  I have to say that my experience is quite the opposite, and I would even go so far as to say that I think Kiwis can be more obnoxious than Australians.  I feel kind of bad in saying that, but the difference in attitude here is quite noticeable.  I think it’s something to do with the fact that people here seem to have more respect for each other’s ‘personness’ or something.  It’s hard to explain.

It’s strange thinking I’ve been here almost seven weeks.  It seems like longer but also like we’ve just arrived (I even keep unconsciously entering the door code from my old job at work when I’m not paying attention).

I’m not saying I’m not loving it.  I still catch myself wondering at the fact that I live here now.  Crazy!

Leave a Reply

