woodland wonderland of despair in humanity

This is a tale of woe and also not woe.

Tonight (this morning?) after I left work at 2 am I walked home as usual.  The street I walk down has recently been planted with young ginkgo trees along the sidewalk, which I have watched bud and sprout leaves over the past few weeks.  As I walked along the street I noticed that some miscreant in a fit of destructiveness had snapped the tops off several of the trees.

My immediate reaction was to think, “What is wrong with people!”  Of course this did not fade, and it is something I still despair of.  The City of Melbourne is trying to make this a more pleasant place for us all to be, but some people seem incapable of seeing the good in the world.

This is why we can’t have nice things.

At some point when Caroline and I were talking about the interior decoration of our future home (this was obviously before we found somewhere to live) I announced that I was going to turn our living area into a woodland wonderland.  Her response wasn’t entirely favourable, but never mind.  I had also contemplated purchasing a young ginkgo (amongst other things) for our outdoor area, but sadly this was not to be.

Anyway, I’m sure you get where this is going…

woodland wonderland of despair in humanity

Ta da!

Leave a Reply

