hot-and-cold mess

My life has a certain… shapeliness?  I work every day.  I include church in that, because being a volunteer, leading volunteer teams every week, it’s not exactly restful.  I have one day to myself.  One day a week.  Wednesday has become my Sabbath.  The day where I have no demands on my time.  I get to decide what I do.  I don’t have to be subjected to the whims of others.  Except even then I do.  This is what it means to live with people.

A stranger has come To share my room in the house not right in the head A girl mad as birds

This is a quote from Love in the Asylum by Dylan Thomas, and while it doesn’t relate to me because for me it isn’t about my love life (what love life… forever alone, etc. etc.), I can always relate to it.  The tyranny of the other, and the inability to reconcile with the inevitability of misunderstandings.  I am grumpy and horrible.  I don’t want to be a hermit.  But on my day off I don’t want to see people who don’t live here.  So I choose instead to avoid all contact.  Except by prior arrangement and with plenty of time for warm up.

IS IT TOO MUCH TO ASK FOR NO ONE TO BE HERE ON WEDNESDAYS?  JUST WEDNESDAYS?  I ONLY HAVE ONE DAY.  ONE DAY.  ONE DAY.  ONE.  DAY.

Okay, end rant.

Leave a Reply

