More Singapore: day two

Look!  It’s more of what I did in Singapore.  Day two featured the Botanic Gardens and a visit to Singapore Art Museum which I didn’t know was hosting work from the Singapore Biennale 2016 (which I didn’t even know was happening—good timing, hey?).

So, first the Botanic Gardens…

img_6402

img_6408

img_6411

img_6419

img_6427

img_6434

img_6454

img_6457

img_6463

img_6468

img_6473

img_6487

img_6493

From there it was back to the city, and after conferring with my Spoon friend I decided I wanted to see some contemporary art, so on to the Singapore Art Museum housed in the former St. Joseph’s Institution, an old catholic school for boys.

img_6563

img_6537

Dex Fernandez
I Wander, I Wonder, 2016
Acrylic paint
Site-specific installation

img_6507

img_6517

Pannaphan Yodmanee
Aftermath, 2016
Mixed media: found objects, artist-made icons, concrete and paint
Sight-specific installation

img_6525

Martha Atienza
Endless Hours at Sea, 2014, 2016
Video, sound and light installation, water, stainless steel, aluminium, mechanics, LED light and air compression

img_6544

img_6557

Deng Guoyuan
Noah’s Garden II, 2016
Aluminium alloy steel frame, mirror glass, LED lighting, real and artificial plants and rocks

img_6567

Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook
Jaonua: The Nothingness (King of Meat:The Nothingness), 2016
5-channel video installation

img_6570

Agan Harahap
Mardijker Photo Studio, 2015
Installation with framed photographs (digital C print on paper)

img_6572

Munem Wasif
Land of Undefined Territory, 2014-2015
Archival pigment print and museum rag board

I had a lot of people mention how good the food is when I said I was heading to Singapore, and I’m pretty particular about what I eat so this night really proved it to be true.  I mean, they probably weren’t talking about the Indian food, but man, the mushroom curry I ate was next level.  So good.  Little India was pretty amazing as well.

And here’s a picture of one of the Singaporean kopitiam or coffee shops that are all over the city.

img_6576

Okay, bye.  (More coming soon).

Leave a Reply

